Advisory board named for NSW Data Analytics Centre

NSW Data Analytics Centre

An advisory board to provide strategic advice and support to the NSW Data Analytics Centre (DAC), chaired by Tim Thurman, chief information officer at the Australian Securities Exchange, has been announced by Victor Dominello, Minister for Innovation and Better Regulation.

Established in August 2015, the DAC is the first analytics centre of its kind in Australia, facilitating data sharing between various government agencies to enable more efficient, strategic and evidence-based decision making across all branches of government. The whole-of-government focus on ensuring useful data is liberated to improve the lives of its citizens, not trapped in unusable silos, sets the DAC apart.

“The board will advise government on priorities and the key partnerships across industry, government and research sectors that should be forged to ensure outcomes are delivered,” said Dominello.

Announcing Thurman, as chair of the nine-member board, Dominello said: “Tim’s experience and expertise at the ASX, where he is overseeing the implementation of a $50 million digital strategy, will assist the government with the digitising of service delivery and implementation of whole-of-government innovation priorities.”

“With the calibre of Dr Ian Oppermann and Tim Thurman at the helm, I’m confident the DAC will deliver positive outcomes for the people of NSW,” said Dominello.

Oppermann was recently confirmed as CEO of the DAC, having acted in the role since late 2015.

The nine DAC board members representing a combination of industry, academia and government are:

  • Mary O’Kane, NSW chief scientist and engineer;
  • Michael Pratt, NSW customer service commissioner;
  • Professor Hugh Durrant-Whyte, director, Centre for Translational Data Science, University of Sydney;
  • Attila Brungs, vice chancellor and president, UTS;
  • Paul Cousins, head of APAC strategic market development, Google;
  • Kate Carruthers, deputy director, business analytics and data governance, UNSW;
  • Murray Hurps, general manager, Fishburners;
  • Alex Scandurra, CEO, Stone and Chalk; and
  • Ian Hill, group head of innovation, Westpac.